Tags

, ,

8/164 hours

8/164 hours

Such a beauty!

Such a beauty!

First off I have to inform everyone that when my oldest son was born I made him a baby blanket from some fleece from Walmart. It was super cheap and easy. At the time I had no desire to make him something elaborate. In the future I will rectify that mistake and make him a better blanket.

So because I had made Gobby a baby blanket I felt that it would only be fair to make the same same for Drew. Being that I work eight hour shifts in the middle of the night that was the most opportune time to work on this blanket. After 12 shifts (2 months), 5 large balls of worsted weight yarn (black and blue colored), and ~$30 investment, I have finished this wonderful blanket.

8/8 hours

8/8 hours

Any time a new project is starting it is hard to get I to the groove of what is going to happen next. Right when I was finically starting to get the hang of knitting and doing this project my shift ended. Instead of feeling dread for my next shift out of fear of boredom I was feeling elated with anticipation in how much I would accomplish!

8/16 hours

8/16 hours

4/20

4/20

i only worked half a shift on this one because there were quite a few emergencies going on and I felt that they were more important than the blanket I was working on-you know because it was my job.

8/28

8/28

6/34 hours

6/34 hours

This one was shorter than all the others because I ran out of yarn 3/4 of the way through a shift and had to wait to get more yarn.

8/42 hours

8/42 hours

8/50 hours

8/50 hours

8/58

8/58

8/66 hours

8/66 hours

8/75 hours

8/75 hours

8/83 hours

8/83 hours

8/91 hours

8/91 hours

8/99 hours

8/99 hours

My knitting needles were too short to allow the blanket to lie flat so there is a slight curve.

8/107 hours

8/107 hours

8/115 hours

8/115 hours

8/123 hours

8/123 hours

At this point in time I figured out that I had been doing all my knit and purl stitches backwards, instead of frogging I made a note a just fixed my stitches the next round.

1/139 hours

1/139 hours

8/131 hours

8/131 hours

8/148 hours

8/148 hours

8/156 hours

8/156 hours

Finished! Design!

Finished! Design!

This is what the actual design is supposed to look like. Beautiful!

 

after working on this project for so long, I decided to make something for myself. If I am going to invest so much of my time, energy, and money into a project I would like to take the time to make something for myself. My next project is a cardigan. Wish me luck!

