Tags

, , , ,

Two Birds One Stone

So…Remember when I made the turkey for New Years Eve? Well, if you don’t that’s alright, I made one anyways.

With that Turkey there was about 20 meals worth of meat that we got. We are still eating by the way with a bunch in the freezer for later on. This is the first bird that everyone seems to be able to hit when it comes to the holidays.

Instead of wasting all the leftovers from the turkey we made some wonderful use of it. By leftovers I’m talking about the carcass and skin- those things that people tend to throw away without a second thought. The second bird. The one that is money being thrown down the drain, literally.

What I am going to cover is how to hit the second bird as easy as possible: What I did to make the broth, what the cost benefits of making the broth, and what the health benefits of making the broth are. Here goes:

Process:

This first part was one of the hardest, most disgusting thing I had ever done with my hands. By the end if it looked like the meat was too stuck onto the bone, I was like, “Oh well, there will be some meat. But I took all the skin off and put in the largest pot I owned, put the meat chunks in my glass dishes to put in the refrigerator, and the bones in the same pot as the skin, while throwing out the fat parts.

Once that hour long ordeal was over, I thoroughly washed my hands and changed my apron because I was covered in turkey. (Good thing I normally wear my hair in a bun or I would have probably had it in my hair as well). Ewww.

Looking through my leftovers, I put in what I could find. A couple carrots that I just broke in half, a couple celery stalks that were roughly broken in half, a bay leaf or two, a whole onion cut into quarters (I did leave the skin on) and some whole pepper corns. I would have put garlic in but I didn’t have any.

Filling the pot with water (right above the bones) and turning the heat onto medium low with a lid on top, I started it and then went to bed.

When I got up in the morning I turned off the heat and let it cool for about an hour before I strained the product. It turned out beautiful, and tasted just as divine.  Since, it was too hot to put in bags to freeze I put the whole pot in the refrigerator to cool. As it was cooling all the fat that I had not been able to keep out I skimmed off the top and threw it away because that isn’t so good.

In the end I made approximately 28 cups/244 ounces of turkey broth.

Cost Benefits of Making Turkey Broth from Scratch:

$0.99 lb carrots * .2 pounds=$0.19

$0.73 bunch celery * 1/8 =$0.10

$1.25 bay leaf bunch * .25 =$0.31

$0.79 lb onion * .33= $0.26

Free Pepper corns * .01=0

$25. 48 Turkey * .33= $8.40

Total= $9.26

Price per ounce = $9.26/244 ounces= $0.04 per ounce

Vs.

Wal*Mart Swansons: Natural Goodness 100% Fat Free All Natural Chicken Broth = $3.98/ 48 ounces= $0.08 per ounce. Site where information can be found is at the bottom of the page.

Thus paying twice as much for the same thing. Doesn’t really add up.

Health Benefits of Making Your Own Broth:

Actually knowing what is going into your body should be a benefit all on it’s own. With the added chemicals and colors being added constantly to our foods it is a wonderful thing to know and control.

While you think cooking takes a long time, yes it does take a long time to actually make the broth, but what was I doing when it was cooking? Sleeping. What else could a person do while this is being made? Work, read a book, etc. It is essentially a “hands off” cooking experience.

It is convenient to have on hand and if you don’t have time to thaw the broth before cooking, just put it in frozen and it will thaw in a few minutes.

Can also be canned to use at a later date. Or given away for a Christmas gift. The uses are endless and the results are amazing!

Conclusion

Don’t waste (money, or time). Know what goes into your food. Super easy to make and store. Hope this helps you for the next time you are going to roast a chicken, or turkey! Good luck!!

http://www.walmart.com/ip/Swanson-Natural-Goodness-100-Fat-Free-All-Natural-Chicken-Broth-RTSB-48-Oz/10308004

 

